Branches of Government

  The American Constitutional system was designed to provide a separation of powers so that supreme power would not be limited to one person or even one body of government. Instead, a system of "checks and balances" was created between 3 branches of government (The Executive, Legislative, and Judicial).

  In the graphic below we have attempted to provide a very simple illustration of how these three branches of government interact and "check" each other.

Script error: local_229043.xml does not exist. Please create a blank file named local_229043.xml.